MISSING PERSON: Diana C Junge from Goodyear, AZ has been missing since Jan 30th. Diana was last seen wearing a gray shirt, gray pants, and women’s size 8 hi-tec hiking boots. If you have any information please contact: Goodyear Police Detective Duque (623) 882-7466. CLICK for more Info
I am out of the state, or out of the country, and cannot return to get the vehicle out. May I use a Power of Attorney after the 30 days has expired so someone else can get the vehicle for me?
Yes, you may use a Limited Power of Attorney after the 30 days has expired. An early release can only be granted to the registered owner, so if the owner is not in the state, you must wait for the 30 days to expire and then use the Power of Attorney. Click here for a limited Power of Attorney. You must also provide a legible front and back copy of the registered owner's Driver's License.
What if the 30 days has expired and I own the car but my driver's license is not valid?
You may bring an owner's agent with a valid driver’s license, proof of registration and proof of insurance for the vehicle being requested. The owner of the vehicle must also be present and provide a valid government form of ID with a photo and date of birth listed. A fee of $150.00 will be collected at the time of release.
If the owner is not able to be present at the time of release, a notarized Power of Attorney will be required, and that identifies the person authorized to act on the owner's behalf, along with a legible copy of a government issued photo ID of the registered owner.
At the end of the 30-days, can I just go to the towing company and get my vehicle?
No, the towing company is not allowed to release an impounded vehicle without paperwork from the Goodyear Police Department.
What will happen if I cannot claim my vehicle?
Under Arizona law, the towing company may file for an abandoned title and seek ownership of the vehicle if it is left at the tow yard unclaimed for more than ten (10) days past the mandatory thirty (30) day impoundment. If you have difficulty in paying for the towing and storage, you should at least contact the towing company if you wish to retain ownership of your vehicle.
My car was involved in a collision and, due to damage, it is not drivable. Does it still have to have a valid registration before the police can release it?
Yes. A current vehicle registration or a valid salvage or dismantle certificate of title is required by law. Contact the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles for more information.
Can I allow someone else to get my vehicle out of impound BEFORE the 30 days has expired?
No. Only the registered owner of the vehicle or the spouse of the registered owner (with a certified marriage license) can get out the vehicle before the 30 days. After the 30 days have expired, the registered owner may bring someone with a valid driver’s license to the hearing with all other required documentation.
What if I own the vehicle but have not yet transferred the title into my name?
If the vehicle was not registered to you at the time it was impounded, and you put the title in your name after the date of impound, the vehicle will only be released to youAFTER the 30 days has expired. There are some exceptions to this rule. Please contact the Tow Coordinator at 623-882-7400 for further information.
If you sell, transfer title, or add a new person on the registration after your vehicle is impounded, the vehicle will remain impounded for the full 30 days due to the change in ownership.
If I transfer ownership or add a new person or company onto the registration, can they get the car out early?
No. If ownership is changed during the impound period, this will require the vehicle to be held in impound for the full 30 days and then released to the new owner AFTER the 30 days has expired.
What if someone other than the owner was driving the vehicle when it was impounded?
The registered owner of the vehicle must pay the $150.00 Administrative Fee. A valid driver’s license, current vehicle registration and proof of mandatory auto insurance must be presented. The registered owner must also pay for all towing fees and storage charges directly to the towing company in order to qualify for the release of the vehicle.
How much will it cost to get my vehicle back?
Arizona law requires the owner to pay for all towing charges as well as storage fees. Storage fees are limited to a maximum of $15.00 per day. These charges are due to the towing company that removed and is storing your vehicle. In addition, pursuant to ARS 28-3514, the owner is liable for an administrative fee of $150.00 payable to the City of Goodyear.
For how long will my vehicle be impounded?
Vehicles impounded under ARS 28-3511 must be stored for a period of thirty (30) days before being released. The law allows for some exceptions, and you may be eligible to have the vehicle released sooner. For example, if your driver’s license is reinstated by the Motor Vehicle Division or the courts, you may be allowed to have your vehicle released before the thirty (30) day period.